University Diversity Council

The University Diversity Council role will assist the University Diversity Officer in coordinating the implementation of the University Diversity Plan. More specifically the University Diversity Council will:

  • Report on the metrics associated with diversity, equity and inclusion.
  • Review and refine the strategic plan for diversity with annual goals to encourage increased recruitment and retention of diverse faculty, staff, and students.
  • Disseminate information to members of the university community regarding “best practices” which encourage diversity, equity and inclusion.
  • Provide communication on diversity, equity and inclusion issues between and among colleges and other institutional units.
  • Consult on the creation of diversity, equity, and international studies webpages.
  • Assess the University’s "cultural climate" and recommend changes based upon findings.
  • Sponsor programs and activities which support diversity, such as a Week of Diversity, Multiculturalism and Social Justice.
  • Discuss and recommend the development of related initiatives and institutes.

University Diversity Council Membership

As of December 23, 2015

  •  André Johnson, Director, Human Resources
  • Audrey Wade, Executive Assistant, Academic Affairs
  • Corey Gin, Director, Leadership and Employment Enrichment Program (LEEP)
  • David Lopez, Associated Students Incorporated (ASI) President
  • Diana Balgas, Executive Director of Transfer Student Programs, Student Affairs
  • Dianne Rush Woods, University Diversity Officer, Office of University Diversity
  • Dwyla Jourdan, Administrative Support Coordinator, Office of University Diversity
  • Jessica Weiss, Professor, Faculty Development
  • Jessika Murphy, Coordinator, The Diversity & Inclusion Student Center (The DISC)
  •  Jillian Buckholz, Director of Sustainability, Academic Affairs
  •  JoAnne Hill, Manager, Human Resources
  •  Katie Brown, Director, Accessibility Services
  •  Kim Geron, Department Chair, Political Science; Diversity and Equity Liaison Officer (DELO); and Chair of the Faculty Diversity and Equity Committee (FDEC)
  •  Lawrence Bliss, Director, Academic Advising & Career Education (AACE)
  •  Linda Dobb, Associate Provost, Academic Affairs
  •  Luis Cardenas, Associated Students Incorporated (ASI) Vice President of External Affairs
  •  Martin Castillo, Associate Vice President, Campus Life
  •  Nyassa Love, Associate Vice President, Risk Management
  •  Pamela Baird, Administrative Analyst/Specialist, Accessibility Services
  •  Rhonda Johnson, Executive Director, Financial Aid
  •  Richard Watters, Executive Director, Alumni & Constituent Relations
  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share