NSF LogoCSU Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP)

Funded through the National Science Foundation (NSF)

Erik Helgren

Erik Helgren - LSAMP Director
Office: Science S 251

Julie Miekle

Julie Mielke – Administrative Support
Office: AE 109

Faculty Mentors:

  • Dr. Derek Kimball (Physics)
  • Dr. Erik Helgren (Physics)
  • Dr. Jason Singley (Physics)
  • Dr. Jennie Guzman (Physics)
  • Dr. James Murray (Biology)
  • Dr. Caron Inouye (Biology)
  • Dr. Chris Baysdorfer (Biology)
  • Dr. Claudia Uhde-Stone (Biology)
  • Dr. Kenneth Cur (Biology)
  • Dr. Monika Smmerhalter (Chemistry)
  • Dr. David Bowen (Engineering)
  • Dr. Jean Moran (Earth & Environmental Sciences)

Student Research Highlights


The goal of the LSAMP program is to increase the participation of individuals who have faced social, educational, or economic barriers to careers in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM). The CSUEB LSAMP program is focused on increasing graduate school preparedness and readiness for all LSAMP participants with a major emphasis on providing participants with hands-on research experiences.


  • Objective 1: To continue to enhance student performance, success, and retention in STEM disciplines; as well as maintain or increase bachelor degree production.
  • Objective 2: To facilitate the transition of community college students in their first year of transfer to a CSU campus through activities that improve the retention rates of transfer students
  • Objective 3: To continue to enhance student interest in research and careers in STEM, as well as enhance the global awareness of competitive CSU-LSAMP students.
  • Objective 4: To increase the number of students who are admitted to graduate programs and obtain doctoral degrees in STEM.


  • Internships
  • Research experiences
  • GRE preparation
  • Graduate application counseling
  • Graduate school visits
  • Travel scholarships
  • Equipment scholarships
  • Paid conferences
  • Study groups
  • Tutoring


To be eligible for CSU- LSAMP students must:

  • Be a U.S Citizen or Permanent Resident
  • Be enrolled at a participating campus in an undergraduate major in STEM discipline or have expressed an interest in pursuing a STEM baccalaureate degree
  • Be an individual who has faced or faces social, educational, or economic barriers to careers in STEM.
  • For application information please contact the LSAMP Director, Dr. Erik Helgren

CSU-LSAMP is funded through the National Science Foundation (NSF) under grant #HRD-1302873 and the Chancellor’s Office of the California State University. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author (s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation or the Chancellor’s Office of the CSU.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share