Vivian Cunniffe Award

The Vivian Cunniffe Award has been presented annually since 1986. Vivian Cunniffe, for whom the award is named, participated in University life in many ways.  She began working here as a high school student in the clerical temp pool.  She completed both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees here at CSUEB.  And if that weren’t enough, Vivian even met her husband, Ed Cunniffe here on campus.  She was a long time employee of the Financial Aid Office, where she excelled as a counselor.  While vacationing in Spain in 1985, Vivian died tragically in an automobile accident.  The Cunniffes were visiting with a family whose children the Cunniffes had hosted as exchange students.

Nominations are invited for outstanding staff employees whose efforts go beyond that which is necessary to accomplish their particular job.  Any employee of the University may make a nomination.  All non-management staff personnel with a minimum of 5 years of service at CSUEB, including Foundation and Associated Students, Inc. staff, are eligible for the Award.  Petitions are not considered an appropriate form for a nomination.  The specific criteria are:

  • Professional attitude
  • Willingness to assume responsibility
  • Demonstrated commitment to campus life
  • Pride in a job well done

The above are considered to be exemplified by dedication to the principle that the goals of the University are primary.  The actions and interactions of the candidate with both students and fellow employees should reflect this principle, thereby making the campus environment a special place in which to work and to be educated.

All of the nominees are presented and the winner is named during the Annual Staff Recognition Awards Reception. The selected nominee receives free parking for one year, a crystal gift and their name inscribed on a perpetual plaque that is displayed in the Student Services and Administration (SA) lobby.

Recipients of the Vivian Cunniffe Award

Year - Employee - Department

1986 - Nancy Sadoyama - ALSS

1987 - Nan Franceschini - Biology

1988 - Shirley Nalty - Admissions & Records

1989 - LouAnn Fernelius - College of Business

1990 - Bob Fenton - Receiving

1991 - Virginia Palmer - College of Science

1992 - Judy Hubbard - Kinesiology and Physical Education

1993 - Susan Parsons - College of Science

1994 - Jim Stanford - Chemistry

1995 - Rose Carrillo - History

1996 - Ann Cambra - Statistics

1997 - Seth Masters - Purchasing

1998 - Joseph Andrews - Budget

1999 - Phillip Garbutt - Geological Sciences

2000 - Edward Wright - Theatre

2001 - Janice Muzzy - Mathematics & Computer Science

2002 - Connie Sexauer - Academic Senate

2003 - Rosanne Moore - Academic Programs and Graduate Studies

2004 - Charlene Lebastchi - College of Science

2005 - Sam Tran - Enrollment Services

2006 - Thelma Stephens-Smith - Facilities Planning & Operations

2007 - Stephen Faletti - Planning & Enrollment Management

2008 - Sandra Anderson - College of Business and Economics

2009 - Don Moreno - Facilities Management

2010 - Lisa Booker - Procurement and Support Services

2011 - Derrick Lobo - Parking Services

2012 - Terry Cunningham - Liberal Studies

2013 - Fernando Coronado

2014 - Julie Mielke

2015 - Valerie Taniguchi

2016 - Doris Szeto

2017 - Matthew Evans

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share