The California State University System

California State University, East Bay is one of 23 universities in the California State University System (CSU). The CSU is a public state university system, the largest in the world with 400,000 students and 43,000 faculty and staff. The CSU is governed by a 25-member of Board of Trustees and the chief administrative officer is the Chancellor, currently Dr. Charles Reed.

The CSU is one of the three systems of higher education in California. In addition to the CSU, there are 10 universities in the University of California system and 112 community colleges. It is relatively easy to determine if a university is part of the CSU system, all have the words “State University” in their names, except for the California Maritime Academy. For example, San Diego State University or California State University, Sacramento.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share