Jazz Studies

Annual Night of Jazz at Yoshi's

A Bay Area tradition since 2000, the Annual Night of Jazz brings together prominent performers and composers of jazz with CSU East Bay students in order to make great music. Please check back soon for information on the future of this tradition.

The program's flagship big band, the East Bay Jazz Orchestra has toured extensively in Europe (2000, 2003, 2005, 2007) and Brazil (2001). The band's mission is to represent and pass the oral and aural traditions of jazz to the next generation of musicians and listeners. The Jazz Orchestra also aims to demonstrate the “swing feel” along with the other essential elements of jazz. Additionally, the ensemble will perform contemporary and cutting-edge music by today's leading jazz composers. Legendary guest artists who have performed alongside the ensembles skilled soloists include Joe Henderson, Michael Brecker, Greg Osby, James Moody, Gordon Goodwin, Ralph Alessi, Ingrid Jensen, Kenny Wheeler, Tom Harrell, Bob Brookmeyer, Conrad Herwig, Peter Erskine, John Abercrombie, John Patitucci, Jim McNeely, Seamus Blake, Maria Schneider, Lenny Pickett, Benny Green, Eddie Daniels, Stefon Harris, Adonis Rose, Wycliffe Gordon, Tiffany Austin, Teodross Avery, Bob Mintzer, Tia Fuller, Brad Leali and Irvin Mayfield.

Previous Guest Artists

  • 2017 - Jazz Director Dann Zinn, saxophone
  • 2016 - Tiffany Austin, vocalist; Teodross Avery, saxophone
  • 2015 - Howard Wiley, saxophone
  • 2014 - Mike Olmos, trumpet; and Marvin McFadden, trumpet
  • 2013 - Lenny Pickett, saxophone
  • 2012 - Marvin Stamm, trumpet
  • 2011 - Dave Eshelman, trombonist, composer
  • 2010 - Marcus Shelby, bassist, composer
  • 2009 - Dayna Stephens, saxophone
  • 2008 - Ralph Alessi, trumpet
  • 2007 - Gregg Field, drums and Shelly Berg, piano
  • 2006 - Jamie Davis, vocalist and alumnus of the Count Basie Orchestra
  • 2005 - Warren Gale, Jr., trumpet
  • 2004 - Kim Richmond, composer, arranger, saxophone
  • 2003 - Gordon Goodwin, composer, arranger, saxophone
  • 2002 - Peter Erskine, drummer and composer
  • 2001 - Maria Schneider, composer and conductor; and Dann Zinn, woodwinds
  • 2000 - Gerald Wilson, conductor; Anthony Wilson, guitar; and Dann Zinn, woodwinds
  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share