Pioneers win Cal Pac tourney championship

  • March 2, 2009

Cal State East Bay men's basketball team will compete in the NAIA II Basketball Championships on March 11 following a 55-52 victory over William Jessup University in the Cal Pac Conference Playoff Championship game on Feb. 28.

Tauran Moore, the Cal Pac Tournament "Player of the Year", hit the winning basket with 0.8 seconds remaining.

The Pioneer men's basketball team captured their first Cal Pac Conference championship since 1998 with a 94-83 overtime victory over CSU-Maritime on Feb. 19.

CSUEB finished the regular season at 17-7 and 14-2 in the Cal Pac. Junior guard Tauran Moore was named Cal Pac Conference regular season Men's Basketball "Player of the Year" and selected to the first team, along with sophomore forward and teammate Will Freedman.

The Pioneer women's basketball team concluded the 2008-09 season with a record of 9-17 and 6-10 in Cal Pac Confernece action. Cal State East Bay lost to Dominican University 85-71 in the second round of the Cal Pac Playoffs.

The Lady Pioneers defeated William Jessup 77-58 in the first round of the Cal Pac Conference Playoffs on February 24. Amy Elliott was named all-conference first team while Morgan Hunter received honorable mention recognition.

Further information about Cal State East Bay's basketball teams is available on the Athletic Department Web site.

  • © Copyright California State University, East Bay.

California State University, East Bay is the San Francisco East Bay Area's high-access public university of choice. CSUEB serves the region with campuses in Hayward and Concord, a professional development center in Oakland, and an innovative online campus. With an enrollment of more than 14,000, the University offers a nationally recognized freshman year experience, award-winning curriculum, personalized instruction, and expert faculty. Students choose from among more than 100 professionally focused fields of study for which the University confers bachelor's and master's degrees, as well as an Ed.D. in education. Named a "Best in the West" college, as well as a Best Business School, by the influential Princeton Review, Cal State East Bay is among the region's foremost producers of teachers, business professionals and entrepreneurs, public administrators, health professionals, literary and performing artists, and science and math graduates.

Learn more and connect with Cal State East Bay at CSUEB Social Media. For up-to-date news snapshots, visit the Inside CSUEB News Blog.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share