Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Academic Senate Office names University Treasures


Terry Smith receives University Treasure honors from Academic Senate Chair Sue Opp. (Photo: Sandy Anderson)

  • March 25, 2009

Three employees known for always saying ”yes” when colleagues ask for assistance received the Academic Senate Office’s University Treasure Award March 17 at the annual St. Patrick's Day luncheon held in the new University Union.

Recipients were Ronn Patton of University Advancement, Terry Smith of Media and Academic Technology Services and Linda Steele of the Department of Chemistry.

Faculty Government Coordinator Susan Correia and Academic Senate Chair Professor Susan Opp presented the awards at the event, known as the Connie Sexauer Award Ceremony.
Since 1990, the Academic Senate Office has given an award to staff members known for dedicated service to the University. The honor, initially called the Ellis O’McCune Award, in 2003 was renamed the Connie Sexauer University Treasure Award, given in memory of Sexauer, longtime secretary of the Academic Senate.

“Connie was the cornerstone of the Academic Senate for 24 years,” Correia said. “We decided to honor her by giving the award in her name after she passed away.”

A dedicated employee, Sexauer exemplified the qualities of sustained service, performing her job well and a willingness always to help in extra ways, traits that have become the criteria for selection as a University Treasure Award recipient.

“There are so many hard-working staff on this campus, many unrecognized,” Correia said. “Tough times are with us again, and we are asked to do more with ever-dwindling resources. Thank you to all of you for what you accomplish daily.”

The names of the 2009 honorees will be added to a perpetual plaque hanging in the Student Information Lobby in Warren Hall. Previous winners were:

Ellis O’McCune Award
1990 Paul Harkness
1991 Pat Sullivan
1992 John Manion
1993 Janet Lopus
1994 Sandra McGill
1995 Carol Ulrich
1997 Virginia & Tom Palmer
1998 Ed Reuling
1999 John McCue
2000 Nanette Franceschini
2001 Anne Marie Peters
2002 Connie Sexauer

Connie Sexauer University Treasure Award
2003 Kathy Burd, Tessie Wenger
2004 Ellie Larsen, Susan Cobb, Barbara Ratto
2005 Matt Evans, Anna Powers, Denise Sullivan
2006 Gina Traversa
2007 Sandy Chinn-Tavis
2008 Mariko Abe, Michelle LaCentra

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.