Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Don Moreno of Facilities named 2009 top employee


President Mo Qayoumi congratulates Don Moreno on receiving the 2009 Vivian Cunniffe Staff Member of the Year Award Dec. 11 at the Staff Recognition Celebration. (Photo: Veronica Salvador)

  • December 14, 2009

Don Moreno, a 15-year member of the Facilities custodial team, received the 2009 Vivian Cunniffe Staff Member of the Year Award Dec. 11 at the annual Staff Recognition Celebration.

“I enjoy my work,” said Moreno, who sat in the front row during the ceremony clutching a plaque naming him top CSUEB employee. “I like working with the people and helping out and (knowing) people are getting their needs taken care of.”

Nominees for the Cunniffe Award are selected based on criteria including a professional attitude, willingness to assume responsibility, demonstrated commitment to campus life and pride in a job well done. The award is named in honor of a former university staff member who was killed in a 1985 car accident.

In addition to free parking for a year, Moreno’s name will be engraved on a perpetual plaque that hangs in the Warren Hall lobby. For the first time, the Cunniffe award recipient also will have a tree planted on the Hayward campus in his honor.

Others nominated for the award were: Susan Cobb, Leo G. Divinagracia III, Kim Greenwood, Steve Main, Ronn Patton, Mary Therese Schweickert-Stary, Brian Sowers, Peggy Towers and Wanda Washington.

Receiving the Cunniffe award came as a surprise to Moreno, whose duties include setting up and breaking down furniture, moving pianos and other musical instruments, cleaning emergency spills and delivering supplies across the university.

“My face is so red,” he said. “I didn’t think I was going to win.”

Colleagues commend Moreno for projecting a positive spirit as he performs his duties. “Whatever you ask him to do, he has the best attitude,” one coworker observed. “You ask anybody, they will tell you the same thing.”

Moreno’s advice for thriving in the workplace in a challenging economic climate?

“Keep your morale up even though we’re going through a difficult time,” he said. “And keep smiling, because a smile shows everyone and ourselves that we enjoy our work. Be yourself; be positive.”

The Staff Recognition event, held in the New University Union multipurpose room, also honors employees with service records of 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years with the university.

Those who have dedicated 25 years of service are: Christina Copus, Edward Gonzalves, Juanita Higares, Michelle La Centra, Julie Roberts, Denise Sullivan, Susan Teixera, Nicholas Vigil and Elaine Yeh.

Members of the 30-year group are: Ernesto Cabotaje, Susan Cobb, Bonnie Correia, Chris Da Silva, Deborah Harris, Deborah Haynes, James Stanford, Mary Therese Schweickert-Stary and Ada Wright.

Employees with 35 years of service to their credit are: Carl Bellone and Rose Greeff.

Staff members recognized for 40 years of service are: Barbara Ratto and Teri West.

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.