Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Submit nominations for 2010 alumni awards

  • January 8, 2010

Each year Cal State East Bay recognizes two outstanding alumni as the “Alumnus of the Year” and the “Distinguished Young Alumnus.” Members of the Cal State East Bay community are encouraged to nominate an alumnus or an alumna for the 2010 awards by Jan. 22, said Kate Shaheed, director of Alumni Relations.

The awards are given to alumni who reflect the priority the university places on regional stewardship and CSUEB’s quest for distinction through their significant professional achievements and community investments. Nominations are sought by emeriti and current faculty, alumni, staff members and administrators who are proud to identify an excellent alumnus, Shaheed said.

Award recipients for 2009 were Evelyn Dilsaver ’77 and Jennifer Jones ’00. Dilsaver, former president and CEO of Charles Schwab Investment Management, makes time to coach youth volleyball teams while also serving on multiple corporate boards. Jones, a talented young researcher with Abbott Labs, returns frequently to Cal State East Bay to mentor students in the kinesiology department.

“It is important to take time to recognize the alumni who are doing great things with the education and experience they received at CSUEB,” Shaheed said. “What a wonderful way to tell the story of our university and build pride in the excellent instruction and services that are offered here.”

Awardees for 2010 will be announced in February and honored April 10 at the university awards gala and featured in a future edition of Cal State East Bay Magazine.

A detailed criteria and nomination form will be posted at the Alumni Association Web site. For additional information, call Alumni Relations at (510) 885-2839.

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.