Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Lobo recognized as CSUEB’s top employee for 2011


Derrick Lobo (far left) poses with fellow nominees for the Vivian Cunniffe Award. (Photo: Elias Barboza)

  • December 16, 2011

Derrick Lobo, parking services coordinator, was honored as Cal State East Bay’s outstanding employee for 2011 with the Vivian Cunniffe Award at the University’s Annual Staff Recognition Holiday Celebration Dec. 15.

The award, presented every year since 1986, is in memory of Cunniffe, who was a longtime financial aid staff member who was active with numerous campus committees and events.

University staff members nominate colleagues “whose efforts go beyond that which is necessary to accomplish their particular job.” All non-management employees with a minimum of five years of service at CSUEB are eligible for the award. Cunniffe Award nominee criteria includes professional attitude, willingness to assume responsibility, pride in a job well done and must demonstrate commitment to campus life.

“It was an honor to be nominated and a great thrill for me that I was selected as this year’s Vivivan Cunniffe Award recipient,” said the modest Lobo, who is a CSUEB alumnus.

Lobo began working for the Pioneer Bookstore as a student assistant in 1988. After graduation he continued to work for the store until 2008, when he moved over to the Enterprise Operations Department, where he serves as parking services coordinator. He earned his degree in business administration, with an emphasis in new ventures and small business management. He met his wife Maryann while both were students. They have a seven-year old daughter and five-year old son and reside in Hayward.

Along with Lobo, 13 other university staff members were nominated for the award. Those nominees were Kimberly Cherry, Susan Cobb and Erendira McDunn from the Department of Mathematics and Computer Sciences; Serena Diaz from User Support Services; Teresa Dulberg from the Music Department; Peter Greeff from Application Systems; Mary Kendall from the Department of Criminal Justice Administration; Henry Enrique Mendoza from Student Academic Services; Ronn Patton from University Advancement; William Roan from the Biological Sciences Department; Flora Salas from Student Health and Counseling Serives; Richard Uhler from the College of Science; and Marianna Wolff from the Communicative Sciences and Disorders Department.

As winner of the award, Lobo receives a crystal gift, free parking for one year and his name inscribed on a perpetual plaque displayed in the Student Services and Administration building.

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.