Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Retired teachers dole scholarships

  • February 8, 2012

One-hundred forty members of the California Retired Teachers Association Division No. 91 from Fremont, Union City and Newark honored and awarded a $1,000 scholarship to a student and 11 $300 mini grants to teachers at its quarterly luncheon meeting Jan. 18 at Sinodinos Restaurant in Newark.

Katyana Sacro, a student at California State University East Bay, was the recipient of the $1,000 scholarship. The mini-grant recipients included fifth-grade teacher Christine Wilson from Oliveira Elementary, first-grade teacher Christine Taylor from Oliveira Elementary, eighth-grade teacher Holly Stark from Centerville Junior High School, first-grade teacher Susan Wirth from Mission Valley Elementary (from Fremont Unified School District); second-grade teacher Maureen Tecson from Alvarado Elementary, kindergarten teacher Catherine Schoon from Pioneer Elementary, first-grade teacher Kathy Wallcave from Kitayama Elementary (from New Haven Unified School District); first- and second-grade combination teacher Laura Trickle from Milani Elementary, science teacher Lisa Landis from Graham and Snow Elementary, fourth-grade teacher Cathreene Watter from Bunker Elementary and special education teacher Shannon Johns from Bunker Elementary (Newark Unified School District).

More than 20 CSU East Bay students applied for the $1,000 scholarship and more than 60 teachers from the three school districts applied for the mini grants by submitting proposals which would augment and enhance the in-class curricula of each teacher.

"All of the recipients of the scholarship and the mini grants are to be commended and congratulated for writing outstanding applications and proposals," said Gene Dias, spokesperson and former president of CalRTA No. 91. "CalRTA No. 91 would also like to thank all those who applied but did not win."

Money to subsidize the scholarship and grants fund is earned from donations, Ducks for Bucks participation, book sales, travel percentage and opportunity drawings.

CalRTA No. 91 has 487 members. Retired teachers interested in supporting public education and promoting social relationships of its members are encouraged to join the FUN Division No. 91. For questions about membership, contact Muriel Rodrigues at P.O. Box 643, Fremont, Calif. 94537.

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.