Top NavTop NavTop Nav

A big winter for the Pioneers


Jacari Whitfield and Micah Walker swept the CCAA Freshman of the Year awards. (Photos: Kelley Cox)

  • March 5, 2012

Pioneer basketball players collect CCAA conference awards

The Cal State East Bay men and women's basketball teams capped the 2011-12 campaign with four awards from the California Collegiate Athletic Association.

Jacari Whitfield and Micah Walker swept the 2012 CCAA Freshman of the Year honors, claiming the award on the men and women's sides, respectively. Marlene MacMillan and Mark Samuels each collected All-CCAA second team honors. The all-conference selections are firsts for both teams, while Walker is the second Pioneer women's basketball player to earn CCAA Freshman of the Year. 

CSUEB women's basketball team makes its first CCAA tourney

The Cal State East Bay women’s basketball team made the most of its first California Collegiate Athletic Association Tournament appearance in program history, pushing Cal State Monterey Bay to the brink in a 46-43 loss on Tuesday at The Kelp Bed. The Pioneers (12-17, 9-13 CCAA) never trailed by more than nine points in the game and held the Otters nearly 20 points under their season average in the narrow loss.

Athletics Department names six to 2012 Hall of Fame induction class

The Cal State East Bay Athletics Department will induct six new members into the Athletic Hall of Fame on May 5, 2012:

  • Women’s volleyball player Marion Champion
  • Women’s basketball and volleyball player Antoinette Goode
  • Football player Don Sawyer
  • Men’s tennis player Jeff Southwick
  • Track and field assistant coach Dr. Charles Harmon “Doc” Brown
  • Men’s tennis head coach John Nelson

The group was selected by the Cal State East Bay Hall of Fame Committee, which convenes every two years and is comprised of one student-athlete, one alumnus, one faculty member and two coaches representing one men’s and one women’s sport. Continue reading.

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.