Top NavTop NavTop Nav

East Bay Local Digest: CSUEB Women's Water Polo honors

  • June 26, 2012

By Elliott Almond

For the second straight year, the national champion Stanford women captured the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches National Player and Coach of the Year awards, as freshman driver Kiley Neushul and coach John Tanner were honored. It is Tanner's second straight ACWPC Coach of the Year honor.

Additionally, eight Stanford players earned All-America honors on the ACWPC's teams. Neushul and driver Kaley Dodson were named to the first team, driver Alyssa Lo to the second team, goalie Kate Baldoni to the third team while two-meters Monica Coughlan and Ashley Grossman along with drivers Cassie Churnside and Pallavi Menon earned honorable mention.

Cal driver Breda Vosters was named to the first team, and two-meter Dana Ochsner made second team.

In Division II, Cal State East Bay's Claire Pierce and Jayme Pekarske earned first-team honors, and Erica Crain made the second team.


© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.