Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Nominations open for CSUEB 2012 Alumnus of the Year

  • July 5, 2012

The Cal State East Bay Alumni Association is requesting nominations for the 2012 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award. This annual honor highlights the success of alumni and is one of the highest honors bestowed by the university on its graduates.

Recipients reflect the diversity of talent of the university community, said Kate Shaheed, director of Alumni Relations and Annual Giving. She said the award is a good way to bring attention to the variety of work CSUEB graduates have done.

“Every day I learn about alumni who are doing exciting things with their Cal State East Bay education,” she said.

The 2011-12 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient will be recognized at the Oct. 12 investiture gala for Leroy M. Morishita, CSUEB’s fifth president. Past recipients include former Macy’s executive Janet Grove ’73, finance expert Evelyn Dilsaver ’77, State Treasurer Bill Lockyer ’69 and Patrick Devine ’87, ’91 of Oracle Corp.

The nominating process is open to the entire university community — faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends. It provides the opportunity to acknowledge alumni who have reached a point of distinction in their careers or made an impact their communities.

Nominees should represent the values of Cal State East Bay through a commitment to distinguished scholarship, lifelong learning, civic engagement and sustainability. Submissions may take into account recent noteworthy professional achievements, public service, contributions to research or the arts, as well as other areas.

“East Bay alumni are bold and bright, and they are working all over the world serving people in need, solving exciting mysteries, and creating new products and ideas,” Shaheed said.

The award committee also looks at those who have shown ethical leadership within regional or professional communities and exemplary service to, or support of, the university.

Nominations may be submitted by e-mail or by mail to Kate Shaheed. The deadline for nominations is Aug. 6.

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.