Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Local Leaders to Be Honored at Asian Pacific Islander American Heritage Leadership Awards Ceremony

  • September 18, 2012

Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) will host the 2nd Annual Asian Pacific Islander American Heritage Leadership Awards Ceremony at 12 noon on Thursday, Sept. 20 in the Holly Center Senior Room, 31600 Alvarado Boulevard in Union City.

The event is free and open to the public, but a limited number of RSVPs will be accepted.

Wieckowski will honor individuals from the APIA community who work or reside within the 20th Assembly District.

To attend the event, please call Andrae Macapinlac of Wieckowski’s district office at 510-440-9030.

California is home to about one-third of the nation’s APIA population.  Accounting for roughly 16 percent of the state’s population, the APIA community is the fastest growing racial and ethnic group in the state.

“The 20th Assembly District, like all of California, has benefited from the varied contributions of Asian Pacific Islander Americans,” Wieckowski said.  “The individuals who will be recognized at this ceremony are true leaders who have stepped up to make important contributions.  All of them, through their own activities, are making the district a better place to live.”

The honorees include:

  • Bernie Nillo, President, Viola Blythe Community Services
  • Kim Geron, Professor, California State University – East Bay
  • Amrit Sra, Engineer and Community Activist
  • Hon. Kansen Chu, Councilmember, City of San Jose
  • Hon. Jim Navarro, Councilmember, City of Union City
  • Mark Wong, Milpitas Business Owner and Activist
  • Paddy Iyer, Business Owner and Activist
  • John Luk, Milpitas Planning Commissioner
  • Charmaine Banther, New Haven Unified Teacher
  • Julius Willis, Hayward Community Services Commissioner
  • Sheena Chang, Fremont Business Owner, Activist


© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.