Howard Hyman

Fremont Bank executive Howard Hyman named 'Distinguished Alumnus of Year'

  • October 17, 2012
  • MEDIA CONTACT: Barry Zepel, Media Relations Officer, (510) 885-3884
  • or Monique Beeler, Associate Dir. of Public Relations, (510) 885-4295

Howard Hyman, executive vice president of Fremont Bank, has been named Distinguished Alumnus of the Year by California State University, East Bay for 2012.

Hyman, who graduated in 1979 with a degree in psychology (minor in business administration) from CSUEB, is a well-known contributor to local charitable causes. The university presented Hyman with the award at a gala Friday celebrating the investiture of the university's fifth president, Leroy M. Morishita.

“The Distinguished Alumnus award is given to an individual who reflects the university's values by making significant achievements in his or her field or major contributions to the community,” Morishita said. “Howard has done tremendous things in both areas, as a successful banker, a long-time member of the Cal State East Bay Educational Foundation Board of Trustees, and a staunch supporter of public higher education in the East Bay. He exemplifies what it means to be a CSUEB alumnus through his contributions to the vitality of the East Bay.”

Hyman has served as Fremont Bank's executive vice president since 1980. In addition to serving as a trustee of the educational foundation, Hyman is director of Fremont Bank Foundation and sits on the board of the Stanford Cancer Council. He also has served on the board of directors for the Fremont Symphony and Valley Montessori School.

“We are fortunate to have one of California's finest institutions of higher learning right here in Hayward,” said Hyman. "Cal State East Bay has many distinguished alumni, and I am truly humbled and honored to receive this recognition.”

Hyman noted that CSUEB and Fremont Bank, which was started by his father Morris Hyman, share an important commonality. Both were established around the same time and have deep roots in local Bay Area communities.

Fremont Bank begins a year-long celebration this spring in honor of its 50th anniversary, “making this award all the more meaningful to me and my family,” Hyman said.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year award have included Elihu Harris '68, former Oakland mayor; Bill Lockyear '69, California state treasurer and former legislator; Hall of Fame baseball player Joe Morgan '90; former Macy's executive Janet Grove '73; finance expert Evelyn Dilsaver '77; and Patrick Devine '87, '91 of Oracle Corp.

  • © Copyright California State University, East Bay.

California State University, East Bay is the San Francisco East Bay Area's high-access public university of choice. CSUEB serves the region with campuses in Hayward and Concord, a professional development center in Oakland, and an innovative online campus. With an enrollment of more than 14,000, the University offers a nationally recognized freshman year experience, award-winning curriculum, personalized instruction, and expert faculty. Students choose from among more than 100 professionally focused fields of study for which the University confers bachelor's and master's degrees, as well as an Ed.D. in education. Named a "Best in the West" college, as well as a Best Business School, by the influential Princeton Review, Cal State East Bay is among the region's foremost producers of teachers, business professionals and entrepreneurs, public administrators, health professionals, literary and performing artists, and science and math graduates.

Learn more and connect with Cal State East Bay at CSUEB Social Media. For up-to-date news snapshots, visit the Inside CSUEB News Blog.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share