Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Eight Pioneer baseball players earn All-CCAA honors


Castillo and Becker helped the Pioneers match a school record with 32 wins in 2013.

  • May 10, 2013

The record setting continues for the 2013 Cal State East Bay baseball team. On May 7, eight players were selected to the California Collegiate Athletic Association all-conference teams, the most in program history. Senior catcher David Castillo became the first Pioneer to earn first-team honors since CSUEB joined the conference, and junior pitcher Sean Becker was named CCAA Co-Newcomer of the Year.

Becker was joined by third baseman Kyle Zozaya and utility player Charlie Sharrer as second-team selections. Pitcher Matt Fontaine, second baseman Eren Miravalles, shortstop Zac Chuvala and outfielder Brandon Alexander all earned honorable mention recognition.

The Pioneers posted a record of 32-18 for the season, matching the school record for victories. They went 23-6 at home and 22-18 in CCAA play, good for fifth place and their highest finish as members of the conference. The team also set a program record and ranked top-15 in the nation with a 2.91 ERA.

With eight honorees, CSUEB boasts the second-most among the conference's eleven schools, trailing Chico State, which had 11 players recognized. Regular season champion Cal State Monterey Bay placed seven on the postseason teams, including Co-Newcomer of the Year Mark Hurley. The Otters' Walt White was also named Coach of the Year. Cal State L.A. also had seven selections, led by Most Valuable Player James Wharton. Sonoma State's Glenn Wallace was picked as Pitcher of the Year and University of California, San Diego's Troy Cruz was tabbed as the conference's top freshman.

Castillo was picked for the first-team infield spot by the CCAA coaches. For the season, he hit .304 with a .368 on-base percentage and 27 RBI, each of which rank second among CCAA catchers. He played in 41 games behind the dish during his senior season and finished fourth on the team with eight doubles. Castillo posted 13 multi-hit games, including a four-hit effort against UCSD.

Becker was named to the second team as a starting pitcher to go along with his Co-Newcomer of the Year award. The right-hander made a big impression in his first season after transferring from LA Mission College. Becker went 8-2 with a 2.19 ERA for the season, leading the Pioneers with 62 strikeouts and issuing just 12 walks. In conference play, he led all pitchers with 83.2 innings and six complete games, and he was twice named CCAA Pitcher of the Week (Feb. 18-24 and Mar. 4-10).

Zozaya also earned second-team recognition as an infielder after finishing 2013 as the Pioneers' leading hitter. The senior batted .348 with a .410 obp and ranked second among all CCAA players with 20 doubles and 44 RBI. He led the team in total bases and extra-base hits and struck out just 14 times in 178 at bats. Zozaya was named CCAA Player of the Week for Feb 18-24 and also tied a CSUEB record with three doubles in a four-hit, seven-RBI game in March.

Sharrer, a four-year senior, was tabbed as a second-team utility player by the CCAA coaches. He hit .333 for the season and led the Pioneers with four home runs and a .519 slugging percentage. He raked 12 doubles and also posted a team-high four saves in 13 appearances as a pitcher. Sharrer struck out 18 in 19.2 innings with a 3.66 ERA. He was named CCAA and National Player of the Week for Mar. 18-24. Sharrer finishes his career ranked second all-time in CSUEB history in career hits (185) and doubles (50). He's also sixth in school history with 95 career RBI, seventh with 99 runs scored, and 10th with 16 career home runs.

In a conference loaded with outstanding starting pitchers, 12 all-CCAA spots simply isn't enough to recognize every deserving hurler. Fortunately for Cal State East Bay, Fontaine's fantastic season didn't go unnoticed. The senior went 6-1 with three saves and a team-best 2.03 ERA that ranked sixth in the CCAA. He closed the season with four straight victories and was named CCAA Pitcher of the Week for Apr. 15-21.

Miravalles batted leadoff for the majority of the conference schedule this year and may have been the best all-around player on the team. He was an honorable mention pick at second base after batting .310 for the season. An excellent defender, he was third on the Pioneers in hits and total bases, and he led all CCAA second baseman with 10 stolen bases.

At times, Chuvala was one of the peskiest outs in the conference this year. He solidified the nine spot in the lineup for the entire season and displayed exemplary range at shortstop. The junior also hit .305 with a .353 obp in conference play, which ranked him third among CCAA shortstops. Chuvala gathered honorable mention honors as an infielder.

There was also no shortage of quality outfielders in the CCAA, but the coaches saw fit to honor Alexander as one of the Pioneers' top run producers. The junior was an honorable mention selection after hitting .337 with a team-high .420 obp. He led the CCAA with five triples and finished second on the Pioneers in hits (59) and RBI (34).


Most Valuable Player – James Wharton, CSULA
Pitcher of the Year – Glenn Wallace, SSU
Freshman of the Year – Troy Cruz, UCSD
Newcomer of the YearSean Becker, CSUEB; Mark Hurley, CSUMB
Coach of the Year – Walt White, CSUMB

First Team
Cody Doyle – C (CSULA)
James Wharton – IB (CSULA)
Ryan Cooperstone – 2B (CSULA)
David Garcia – 3B (CSUMB)
Jason Merjano – SS (CSUMB)
David Castillo – INF (CSUEB)
Mark Hurley – OF (CSUMB)
Scott Masik – OF (CSULA)
Danny Susdorf – OF (UCSD)
Ivory Thomas – OF (CSUDH)
Jordan Whitman – OF (CPP)
Jeremy Weber – DH (CSULA)
Troy Cruz – UT (UCSD)
Will Anderson – SP (CSUMB)
Nick Baker – SP (CSUC)
Harmen Sidhu – SP (SSU)
Glenn Wallace – SP (SSU)
A.J. Quintero – RP (CSUMB)

Second Team
Mark Lindsay – C (SFSU)
Bo Walter – 1B (CPP)
Ronnie Fhurong – 2B (CSUMB)
Tyler Christian – 3B (CSULA)
Miguel Flores – SS (SFSU)
Kyle Zozaya – INF (CSUEB)
Craig Beevers – OF (CSUS)
Grady Espinosa – OF (SFSU)
Blake Gibbs – OF (CSUC)
Garrett Schwartz – OF (SSU)
Cody Webber – DH (CSUC)
Charlie Sharrer – UT (CSUEB)
Sean Becker – SP (CSUEB)
Troy Neiman – SP (CSUC)
Jeff Owen – SP (CSUMB)
Jordan Sechler – SP (CSULA)
Cody Ponce – RP (CPP)

Honorable Mention
Ben Manlove – C (CSUC)
Richard Seigel – 1B (UCSD)
Eren Miravalles – 2B (CSUEB)
Pierson Jeremiah – 3B (CSUC)
Dillon Moyer – SS (UCSD)
Myles Dempsey – INF (CSUC)
Cody Slader – INF (CSUC)
Zac Chuvala – INF (CSUEB)
Brandon Alexander – OF (CSUEB)
Steven Filippi – OF (SSU)
Kevin Logan – OF (CSUDH)
Austin Prott – OF (CSUC)
Billy Hamilton – DH (CSUSB)
Jason Padlo – UT (CPP)
Nolan Sheridan – SP (SFSU)
Matt Fontaine – SP (CSUEB)
Ryan Goodbrand – SP (UCSD)
Kagen Hopkins – SP (CSUC)
Sean Martin – RP (CSUC)

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.