25 Pioneer student-athletes met the standards for the D2ADA Academic Achievement Award.

25 Pioneers earn D2ADA Academic Achievement Award

  • August 30, 2013

Twenty-five Cal State East Bay student-athletes were announced as recipients of the 2012-13 Academic Achievement Award from the NCAA Division II Athletics Directors Association (D2ADA). CSUEB was one of a record 172 institutions to be recognized this year, including eight from the California Collegiate Athletic Association.

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that honors the classroom accomplishments of Division II student-athletes across the nation. In order to be eligible, an institution's athletics director must be a current member of the D2ADA. To earn the award, a student-athlete must be an active member of an intercollegiate team during his or her last academic year; have attended a minimum of two years of college level work; and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

"The D2ADA would like to thank and congratulate the institutions that took part in honoring the record-number of 6,854 student-athletes with 2012-13 Academic Achievement Awards," said the organizaton's president, Anita Barker, director of athletics at Chico State. "We continuously strive to recognize and honor deserving Division 2 student-athletes. This award gives us the platform to showcase these individuals and their efforts in the classroom, as well as on the playing field."

Cal State East Bay's 25 honorees for the 2012-13 school year are: Jason Smith, men's basketball; Daniel Damian, men's cross country and track; Chris Herzog, men's golf; Nate Durio, men's soccer; Paul Dewhurst, men's soccer; Scott Dobson, men's soccer; Brianna Terrance, women's basketball; Hege Blikra, women's basketball; Lauren Lucchesi, women's basketball; Meaghan Cichoke, women's basketball; Micah Walker, women's basketball; Arielle Swan-Smith, women's golf; Erica Ballard, women's golf; Alyssa Olow, women's soccer; Jamie Botteon, women's soccer; Anne Dunne, women's soccer; Ari Strickland, women's soccer; Donna Williams, women's soccer; Katie Brawley, women's soccer; Rachel Sloss, women's soccer; Alyssa Tenney, women's swimming; Catia Kineho, women's swimming; Rachel Knowles, women's swimming; Nikki Long, women's volleyball; and Claire Pierce, women's water polo.

  • © Copyright California State University, East Bay.

California State University, East Bay is the San Francisco East Bay Area's high-access public university of choice. CSUEB serves the region with campuses in Hayward and Concord, a professional development center in Oakland, and an innovative online campus. With an enrollment of more than 14,000, the University offers a nationally recognized freshman year experience, award-winning curriculum, personalized instruction, and expert faculty. Students choose from among more than 100 professionally focused fields of study for which the University confers bachelor's and master's degrees, as well as an Ed.D. in education. Named a "Best in the West" college, as well as a Best Business School, by the influential Princeton Review, Cal State East Bay is among the region's foremost producers of teachers, business professionals and entrepreneurs, public administrators, health professionals, literary and performing artists, and science and math graduates.

Learn more and connect with Cal State East Bay at CSUEB Social Media. For up-to-date news snapshots, visit the Inside CSUEB News Blog.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share