Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Forty-Nine Business Schools Extend Their AACSB Accreditation in Business or Accounting

  • January 8, 2014

TAMPA, Fla. -- AACSB International announced today that 49 business schools have extended their accreditation in business and/or accounting. Founded in 1916, AACSB International (AACSB) is the longest serving global accrediting body for business schools that offer undergraduate, master's, and doctorate degrees in business and accounting.

AACSB Accreditation is the hallmark of excellence in business education, and has been earned by less than five percent of the world's business schools. Today, there are more than 687 business schools in 45 countries and territories that have earned AACSB Accreditation. Similarly, 182 institutions hold an additional specialized AACSB Accreditation for their accounting programs.

"AACSB commends each institution for their exemplary work in holding the highest honor in business school accreditation," said Robert D. Reid, executive vice president and chief accreditation officer of AACSB International. "Business schools must not only meet specific standards of excellence, but their deans, faculty, and professional staff must make a commitment to ongoing continuous improvement to ensure that the institution will continue to deliver the highest quality of education to students."

Achieving accreditation is a process of rigorous internal review, evaluation, and adjustment and can take several years to complete. During these years, the school develops and implements a plan to meet AACSB's Accreditation standards , which require a high quality teaching environment, innovative programming, and active engagement with industry. In addition, as required by the AACSB Standards, all accredited schools must go through a continuous improvement peer review process every five years in order to retain their accreditation.

To realize accounting accreditation, an institution must first earn AACSB business accreditation. Then, in addition to developing and implementing a mission-driven plan to satisfy the business accreditation quality standards, accounting accreditation requires the satisfaction of an additional set of standards that are specific to the discipline and profession of accounting.

As ratified by the Board of Directors of AACSB International, the following schools have extended their accreditation in business:
Babson College (United States)
Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey, Camden(United States)
Baylor University (United States)
Saginaw Valley State University (United States)
Brock University (Canada)
Southeastern Louisiana University (United States)
Bryant University (United States)
St. John Fisher College (United States)
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
(United States)
St. Mary's University (United States)
California State University, Chico (United States)
State University of New York at Oswego (United States)
California State University, East Bay (United States)
Stephen F. Austin State University (United States)
China Europe International Business School (CEIBS) (China)
Tennessee State University (United States)
Dalhousie University (Canada)
The University of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)
Griffith University (Australia)
The University of British Columbia (Canada)
HEC Montreal (Canada)
The University of Rhode Island (United States)
Hofstra University (United States)
The University of Tampa (United States)
Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne(United States)
The University of Tulsa (United States)
INSEAD (France)
Truman State University (United States)
John Carroll University (United States)
University of North Texas (United States)
Kansas State University (United States)
University of Pittsburgh (United States)
Kent State University (United States)
University of South Alabama (United States)
King's College (United States)
University of Virginia-McIntire (United States)
Lander University (United States)
Vanderbilt University (United States)
Marist College (United States)
Washington and Lee University (United States)
Montana State University, Bozeman (United States)
Weber State University (United States)
Oakland University (United States)
Western Michigan University (United States)
Queen's University (Canada)
Western New England University (United States)


© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.