2010 Football Hall of Fame ballot includes former CSUEB coach

  • March 17, 2010 5:00am

The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today the names of 77 players and seven coaches who comprise the 2010 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. On the list is Darryl Rogers who served as Cal State Hayward head coach in 1965.

After Hayward, Rogers coached Fresno State (1966-72), San Jose State (1973-75), Michigan State (1976-79),  and Arizona State (1980-84). According to the ballot, he "took Fresno State to two bowl games. Achieved an unprecedented national ranking at San Jose State. Was Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1977 and National Coach of the Year by Sporting News in 1977. Won the Big Ten title in 1978."

Ballots were mailed this week to more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers. The new Hall of Fame Class will be announced live May 27th.

California State University, East Bay is the San Francisco East Bay Area's high-access public university of choice. CSUEB serves the region with campuses in Hayward and Concord, a professional development center in Oakland, and an innovative online campus. With an enrollment of more than 14,000, the University offers a nationally recognized freshman year experience, award-winning curriculum, personalized instruction, and expert faculty. Students choose from among more than 100 professionally focused fields of study for which the University confers bachelor's and master's degrees, as well as an Ed.D. in education. Named a "Best in the West" college, as well as a Best Business School, by the influential Princeton Review, Cal State East Bay is among the region's foremost producers of teachers, business professionals and entrepreneurs, public administrators, health professionals, literary and performing artists, and science and math graduates.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share