University begins Week of Scholarship with faculty awards reception

  • April 23, 2013 9:00am

At the celebratory kickoff for the inaugural Week of Scholarship, members of the Cal State East Bay community gathered Monday to recognize the work of our faculty members in and out of the classroom.

President Leroy M. Morishita introduced this year’s George and Miriam Phillips Outstanding Professor, Derek Jackson Kimball of the physics department. “He is truly enthusiastic about his service to the University community,” Morishita said in his introduction.

Kimball’s entertaining presentation, “Illuminating the Mysteries of the Universe,” shared that enthusiasm with the audience as he discussed his relationships with his mentors, his work with CSUEB students, and his excitement in looking into big questions about dark matter, dark energy, and the laws of physics as we understand them.

The annual award honors a faculty member for teaching, research, and service to the University. George and Miriam Phillips were civic leaders in Hayward who helped bring the State College to their city. Their son James Phillips endowed the award in their memory and was in attendance to present Kimball with his award. They were joined before the ceremony by several former Outstanding Professors, including Jane Lopus, Joan Sieber, Susan Opp, Jeffery Seitz and Stephen Gutierrez.

Provost James Houpis, who presented the first Provosts’ Awards, said he has been looking for more University-wide avenues to recognize the great work of faculty across campus. The three new awards were created and selected with the help of the Faculty Affairs Committee of the Academic Senate.

  • Outstanding Mentor of Students — Jennifer Eagan, Philosophy, CLASS
  • Outstanding New Researcher — Jiming Wu, Management, CBE
  • Outstanding Contributor to Community Engagement  — Lettie Ramirez, Teacher Education, CEAS

Associate Provost Linda Dobb closed the program with recognition for faculty authors and artists who have published or exhibited work in the previous two years.

  • Dee Andrews
  • Eileen Barrett
  • Debra Barrett-Graves
  • Christoph Baysdorfer
  • Katherine Bell
  • Tom Bickley
  • Jacob Blair
  • Li-Lin Chen
  • Dong-Won Choi
  • Jacqueline Doyle
  • Doris Duncan
  • Jennifer Eagan
  • Eric Engdahl
  • Colleen Fong
  • Bridget Ford
  • Maria Gallegos
  • Ray Garcia
  • Susan Gubernat
  • Steve Gutierrez
  • Mary Ann Irwin
  • Kevin Kaatz
  • Grant Kien
  • Chris Kitting
  • Christopher Knaus
  • Fred Leavitt
  • Danika LeDuc
  • Rolla Lewis
  • Nidhi Mahendra
  • Daniel Martin
  • Jeffrey Miller
  • Christopher Moreman
  • Stephen Morewitz
  • Grace Munakata
  • James Murray
  • Laura Nelson
  • Maria Nieto
  • Maria Ortuoste
  • Gretchen Reevy
  • Edna Reiter
  • Dore Ripley
  • Enrique Salmon
  • Terry Soo-Hoo
  • Aline Soules
  • Sarah Taylor
  • Iliana Underwood-Holbrook
  • Lynn Van Hofwegen
  • Diana Wakimoto
  • Jessica Weiss

The Week of Scholarship will continue Tuesday and Wednesday with student and faculty poster sessions and special events on Thursday and Friday highlighting new initiatives on campus. See the full schedule here.


  • © Copyright California State University, East Bay.

California State University, East Bay is the San Francisco East Bay Area's high-access public university of choice. CSUEB serves the region with campuses in Hayward and Concord, a professional development center in Oakland, and an innovative online campus. With an enrollment of more than 14,000, the University offers a nationally recognized freshman year experience, award-winning curriculum, personalized instruction, and expert faculty. Students choose from among more than 100 professionally focused fields of study for which the University confers bachelor's and master's degrees, as well as an Ed.D. in education. Named a "Best in the West" college, as well as a Best Business School, by the influential Princeton Review, Cal State East Bay is among the region's foremost producers of teachers, business professionals and entrepreneurs, public administrators, health professionals, literary and performing artists, and science and math graduates.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share