About the Office of Academic Affairs

The Division of Academic Affairs is committed to ensuring that students receive an academically rich multicultural learning experience through providing direction and support services to Deans, University Librarian, department chairs and faculty.  To achieve this goal, Academic Affairs collaborates with the Academic Senate when appropriate.

Specific areas in which support is provided are faculty and administrative searches; faculty appointments, evaluation, discipline, leaves and separations; faculty development and department chair development; Unit 3 and Unit 11 contract issues and grievances; academic policy information and interpretation; academic budgetary resources and faculty salary information; grants and contract proposals; curricular proposals, accreditation and transfer articulation issues; general education program; library and student academic support; on-line and hybrid course development; international programs, admissions and visas; certificate and extension programs; academic programs and graduate studies at Hayward, Concord and On-line campuses.

Office of Academic Affairs Staff

Carolyn Nelson
Interim Provost and Vice President

Linda Dobb
Associate Provost

Audrey Katzman
Director, Academic Affairs Budget and Communications

Gina Traversa
Special Assistant to the Provost

Karen Ling
Faculty Immigration Advisor

Robin Hale
Faculty Contract Specialist

Sarah Knudsen
Executive Assistant to the Provost

Audrey Wade
Assistant to the Director, Academic Affairs Budget and Communications

Ruthy Stephan
Confidential Tech Support

Denise Johnson
Confidential Office Support

Colleges and Departments

College of Letters, Arts and Social Sciences
Kathleen Rountree, Dean

College of Business and Economics
Jagdish Agrawal, Dean

College of Education and Allied Studies
James Zarrillo, Interim Dean

College of Science
Jason Singley, Dean

University Libraries
John Wenzler, Dean of Libraries

Concord Campus
Robert Phelps, Director Concord Campus

Academic Programs & Graduate Studies
Donna Wiley, Interim Associate Vice President

Institute for STEM Education and Director of Gateways East Bay STEM Network
Stephanie Couch, Executive Director

Research & Professional Development
Stephanie Couch, Interim Associate Vice President

Sponsored Programs Administration
Sean Williams, Director

Academic Advising & Career Education
Lawrence Bliss, Director

Academic Senate
Michael Hedrick, Senate Chair

Centers & Institutes

Center for International Education
Kelly Moran, Director

C.E. Smith Museum
George Miller, Director

Faculty Development
Jessica Weiss, Director

Grade Appeal & Academic Grievance Committee
Erica Wildy, Presidential Appointee

General Education Program
Nancy Thompson, DIrector of General Education/Chair of General Studies

Online Campus 
Roger Wen, Director

Student Center for Academic Achievement 
Jen Nguyen, Director

University Art Gallery
Jill Ringler, co-assistant curator/Gallery Manager

University Extension
Brian Cook, Associate Vice President

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share