Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Undergraduate Requirement

If you have not attended schools at the secondary level or above where English is the principal language of instruction for at least three years full-time, you must demonstrate proficiency by completing one of the following:

  • TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language)
  • IELTS (International English Language Testing System)
  • Transfer from a U.S. college with 60 or more semester/90 or more quarter units with a minimum grade point average of 2.0, OR have completed a transfer course in each of the following general education areas with a grade of “C” or better: English composition, speech, critical thinking, and mathematics.

English Language Proficiency Test Requirements for Undergraduate Admission

Test Minimum Score Official Website
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) Internet based: 61 (ibt) Academic version accepted ETS Institution code: 4011
IELTS (International English language Testing System) Overall Score: 6.0  Academic version accepted IELTS Electronic scores are not accepted

**If an applicant does not meet the above minimum requirements, please visit our Conditional Admissions page.

Exemptions to English Language Proficiency Test Requirement

The TOEFL requirement is waived for students that have the following:

Completed 3 years of full time schooling where English was the principal language at the secondary level or above (applicable for studies completed outside of US only).  An official letter must be submitted from the institution stating the “MEDIUM OF INSTRUCTION IS ENGLISH”. 


Attended schooling in following countries which have English as their official language:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize (formerly British Honduras), Bermuda, Botswana, Canada (except Newfoundland, Nova Scotia & Quebec), Cayman Islands, Commonwealth Caribbean, Dominica, England, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana (aka British Guiana), Ireland, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Micronesia, Montserrat, Namibia, New Zealand, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia (Caribbean Commonwealth), Scotland, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago, United Kingdom, Virgin Islands (British), Wales, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.