Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Campus Sustainability Committee

Cal State East Bay Campus Sustainability Committee (CSC) was created in Spring 2015 in order to fulfill: the California State University System Sustainability Policy; the campus’ Shared Strategic Commitment to, “contribute to a sustainable planet through our academic programs, university operations, and individual behavior,” its sustainability Institutional Learning Outcome to “act responsibly and sustainably at local, national, and global levels,” and in response to the signing of the Carbon Commitment by President Morishita, which includes a requirement to establish an institutional structure to oversee the development and implementation of the associated requirements.


Through transparent decision-making and open discussion forums, the CSC will advise campus entities on issues related to environmental, economic, and social sustainability.


The objectives of the CSC include, but are not limited to:

  • Promote and support a culture of sustainability at Cal State East Bay
  • Enhance the sustainability literacy of students, faculty, and staff
  • Review research of past and current sustainability initiatives in higher education
  • Coordinate and implement plans, projects, programs, policies and procedures
    to make campus operations more sustainable
  • Review new and existing campus sustainability goals and program metrics
  • Assess, monitor, and update sustainability practices and procedures
  • Recommend new or enhanced sustainability strategies to campus divisions for consideration, as appropriate
  • Partner and collaborate with campus entities and the community
  • Advise the Office of Sustainability
  • Disseminate information about campus sustainability efforts throughout the campus, community, and beyond


The CSC will include representatives from Cal State East Bay faculty, staff, and students, as well as leaders of key campus organizations and community partners.

Ex-Officio Members

  • Co-Chairs
    • Provost
    • Vice President of Finance and Administration
  • Director of Sustainability
  • Associate Vice President of Campus Life
  • Associate Vice President of Facilities Development and Operations
  • Associate Vice President of University Extension
  • Executive Director of University Communications
  • University Diversity Officer
  • Associated Students Director of Sustainability Affairs
  • Environmental Services Manager, The City of Hayward

Two-Year Term (with option of one-year renewal)

  • Faculty (4)
  • Presidential Designee (1)

Faculty positions are filled based on a nomination process. Self-nominations and nominations from campus community members will be reviewed and appointed by the Executive Committee to the CSC.

Faculty and the Presidential Designee serve a two-year term with the option of a one-year renewal. Initial appointments were staggered to avoid terms ending at the same time for each committee member.

Ex-Officio members are permanent appointments to the committee based on position. Ex-Officio members are subject to review based on institutional change of position or restructure.

Being a member of the CSC is deemed service to the university and will be considered positively in the tenure promotion process for faculty and position review process for staff.

The CSC will create area-specific task forces as needed to carry out its responsibilities, which will include committee members, other faculty, staff, students, community members, and volunteers as required. Task forces will be organized as specific initiatives develop and may be dormant when a given project has been implemented.

Meetings & Minutes

In AY19/20, the CSC will meet the second Friday in November and April in SF 0329 at 2 pm.

For more information, please email

Spring 2019
Fall 2018
Spring 2018
Winter 2018
Fall 2017
Spring 2017
Winter 2017

Fall 2016
Spring 2016
Winter 2016

© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.