Graduate Study

Glenn Glasow Graduate Fellowship in Composition

The Glenn Glasow Graduate Fellowship in Composition is awarded annually to a graduate student who shows outstanding potential as a music composer. The award is named after Glenn Glasow (1924-2002), a professor of music at CSU East Bay and a beloved figure in the department for 34 years until his retirement in 1995. Recipients of the fellowship receive financial support for one year of graduate study and are expected to premiere an original composition at the Annual Glenn Glasow Memorial Concert in the Spring Quarter.

This concert, now a longstanding tradition, began during Glasow's lifetime. In 2009, his family established The Glenn Glasow and Yoshiko Kakudo Endowment in Music Composition to ensure that the annual memorial concert continues providing a showcase for works by CSU East Bay alumni, faculty, and students.

There is no formal application for this fellowship. Recipients are selected on the basis of scores submitted through the application process and through private composition lessons.

Glasow was a professor of music and Asian studies from 1961 to 1995. Born in Minnesota, he attended Hamline University, studied music in Germany on a Fulbright grant and earned a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois. Before joining the faculty at CSU East Bay, Glasow was the music director at radio station KPFA. In addition to teaching, he was also an active composer and an expert in world music, particularly the music of Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu.

Recipients of the Glenn Glasow Graduate Fellowship in Composition

2009 - Ryan Rey

2010 - Hilary Strain

2011 - Leslie LaBarre

2012 - Rob Lyons

2013 - Michael Zapruder

2014 - Michael Stubblefield

More About Glenn Glasow

Do you see yourself in music?

We'd love to hear from you. Express your interest in music study at CSUEB.

  • Print This Page
  • Bookmark and Share