Top NavTop NavTop Nav

CSUEB librarian wins ACRL 'publication of the year' award

CSUEB Librarian Korey Brunetti

CSUEB Librarian Korey Brunetti

  • April 29, 2013 5:00am

Korey Brunetti, Cal State East Bay associate librarian and collections coordinator, along with two former CSUEB librarians, Amy R. Hofer and Lori Townsend, have been chosen as the winners of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section (IS) Ilene F. Rockman Publication of the Year Award, for their article “Threshold Concepts and Information Literacy.”

"We were surprised and honored to win this award because it demonstrates that our work resonates with key professionals in our field,” said Brunetti. “We are also excited by the visibility this award brings to our research, as it will help us recruit participants and collaborators.  This project grew out of our work together at CSUEB, where all three of us have taught LIBY 1210, Introduction to Information Literacy." The award is extra special for the recipients because Ilene F. Rockman for whom the award is named was a librarian at CSUEB in the 1990s.

"The whole library family is very proud that Korey had received this honor," said Linda Dobb, university librarian and interim associate provost.  "Not only does this speak well for quality of his research but also for our Library's unique information literacy program.  Ilene Rockman was one of our most esteemed library colleagues and it is wonderful that Korey has brought her award home to East Bay!"

"Any librarian who has struggled with turning theory into practice when it comes to information literacy instruction will appreciate this article,” said award committee co-chairs Erin Ellis of the University of Kansas and Robin Kear of the University of Pittsburgh. “The awards committee appreciates this excellent mix of the theoretical and practical and believes it presents a new and exciting way to think of what and how we teach.”

Congratulations to Korey, Amy and Lori!

Read ALA press release.


© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.