Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Record voting and participation leads to runoff elections for 13 ASI student government positions

  • June 2, 2010 3:00pm

This year's election for Associated Students Inc. student government positions generated unprecedented student participation as well as a huge voter turnout - so huge, in fact, that ASI must hold runoff elections for 13 of the 18 positions to determine next year's officers.

Voting, which is done online through Blackboard, was open May 20-29, but there were no clear winners for several positions, according to Marguerite Hinrichs, director of student life and leadership programs. Each position had multiple candidates, and the top two vote-getters from each will face off in runoffs this week.

Runoff voting begins on Blackboard at noon Thursday, June 3 and will be open through 11:59 p.m. Saturday, June 5. (Registered students — vote now!) Hinrichs said ASI hopes to announce winners before the end of the quarter next week.

The declared winners for the other five positions are:

  • Jennifer Stern, Academic Senate, Student Member
  • Laura Banuelos, Academic Senate, Student Member
  • Lokesh Vijakumar, Academic Senate, Student Member
  • Sara Holdridge, Director, College of Education and Allied Studies
  • Christopher Caldwell, Director, Concord Campus


© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.