Top NavTop NavTop Nav

Students take honors at annual Art Department/Gallery awards night

Provost with two students

Provost with two students

  • May 10, 2012 2:00pm

Art students Alberto Symon, Adriana Gonzalez, Anne Hartwell and Divinae Folliae, a group comprised of Shalee Evans, Emanuela Quaglia, and Evelin Saavedra, are among the award recipients in this year’s Annual Juried Student Show in the Cal State East Bay University Art Gallery.

Symon received the Friends of the Arts Scholarship Award of $1,000 for, “13th and 14th, Oil on Canvas, 2012.” Hartwell received the $750 Mona Froyland Memorial Award for, “Sunrise (Rust & Acrylic Study II), Mixed Media, 2012;” Gonzalez won the $500 Toki Award for “… and You Shall Receive…. Ceramic & Stones, 2012;” and Divanae Folliae received the $750 Howard Slatoff Trust Award in graphic design for, “Torment to Bliss, Multi-Media Inkjet Print, 2012.”

Evelin Saavedra received the San Leandro Art Association award for, “Yesterday, Today, and Forever, Inkjet Print, 2012;” Samantha Bruno, Kenneth Hung, and Laura Cline received the Portfolio Awards; Martin Hebisz received the University Art Center award for, “Childhooides, Print & Solvent, 2009; ” Jena Scholten received a Digital Art Supplies award for, “White, Archival Inkjet Print on Wood, 2012;” and Hayward Arts Council awards went to Samantha Bruno for, “Everybody Hurts, Art Book, 2012;” and to Teresa Taniguchi for, “Pendant, Sterling Silver, Lost Wax Casting, 2011.”

Enrique Tabares received Blick Art Materials for, “Faith, Acrylic on Canvas, 2012;” Kevin Troglin received a Digital Art Supplies award for, “The Oblivion of Red, Inkjet Print, 2012;” Emanuela Quaglia received a Digital Art Supplies award for, “Odio et Amo, Inkjet Print, 2012;” Samantha Bruno, Kenneth Hung and Laura Cline won the portfolio awards; and Nico Harriman received one of the Slatoff Trust awards.

Justin Ta received the Henri Cartier Bresson Photo Award for, “1:00 AM, Inkjet Print, 2012;” Alyssa Albatana received the Imogen Cunningham Photo Award for, “Take One, Inkjet Print, 2012;” Joshua Folsom received the Keeble & Shuchat Photo Award for, “Lost” Inkjet Print;” Thomas Rockwell won the Workbench True Value gift certificate for, “Watcher of the Warrens, Ceramic, 2012;” and Kenneth Hung received drawing supplies from the Pioneer Bookstore for, “Brother, Son, Pencil & Acrylic on Paper, 2012.”

Students winning video festival awards were Jesse Medeiros, first place; Adriana Gonzalez Farfan, second place; and Byung Jo Kang, third.

The art exhibition will be open through June 9, except for May 28. Hours are Mondays-Wednesdays and Saturdays from 11 a.m.-4 p.m., and Thursdays from 2-7 p.m. The gallery is on the first floor of the Art and Education Building, 25800 Carlos Bee Blvd., Hayward, 94542. Admission is free. More information is at: Art Gallery


© California State University, East Bay. All Rights Reserved.