CSU Deans' Statement

CSU Deans' Statement in Support of Culturally Sustaining, Equity Driven, and Justice Focused Pedagogies

As leaders of Colleges and Schools of Education in the California State University System (CSU), we directly oppose any theory, practice or action that interferes with the educational process. Our goal is to ensure that we prepare educators who can uplift, inspire and engage students, all students. We will continue to provide educators with the tools that will allow them to embed student culture and lived experiences, including but not limited to, language, race and ethnicity into the curriculum so that each educator can engage each student. We are educators and that is our job. It is our responsibility to prepare educators to value and educate all children. To do so, future educators must recognize children's individual strengths and needs, the community cultural wealth they bring with them to the classroom, and the systemic challenges and opportunities that impact their experiences in TK12 schools. This requires that future educators grapple with the realities of structural racism in our society.

We strongly affirm that educators, not elected officials, should make decisions about teaching and learning. We reject the inappropriate and uninformed political attacks on any pedagogical approaches, including Critical Race Theory, and in doing so, we support academic freedom in its broadest sense.

We continue to stand with educators, faculty, students and alumni who engage culturally sustaining, equity-driven and justice-focused pedagogical practices that improve learning opportunities for all students.

Signed by:
Laura Alamillo, Dean, Sonoma State University
Ernest Black, Systemwide Director, CalStateTEACH
Rebecca Bustamante, Associated Dean, CSU Long Beach
Kim Case, Associate Dean, CSU Fullerton
Y. Barry Chung, Dean, San Diego State University
Chinaka DomNwachukwu, Dean, CSU San Bernardino
Cathi Draper Rodriguez, Chair, CSU Monterey Bay
Mitch Fryling, Associate Dean, Charter College of Education, CSU Los Angeles
Sarah Garrity, Interim Senior Associate Dean, San Diego State University
Hend Gilli-Elewy, Interim Dean, Cal Poly Pomona
Cynthia Grutzik, Dean, San Francisco State University
Kathryn Howard, Associate Dean, CSU Channel Islands
Lisa Kirtman, Dean, CSU Fullerton
Paula Lane, Associate Dean, Sonoma State University
Heather Lattimer, Dean, San Jose State University
Elizabeth Miller, Chair, Cal Poly Humboldt
Aimee Nelson, Director, CSU Fullerton
Cheryl L. Ney, Dean, Charter College of Education, CSU Los Angeles
Elizabeth Orozco Reilly, Dean, CSU Channel Islands
Anna Ortiz, Interim Dean, CSU Long Beach
Jennifer A. Ostergren, Dean, CSU San Marcos
Jessica Pandya, Dean, CSU Dominguez Hills
Jann Pataray-Ching, Chair, Cal Poly Pomona
Shireen Pavri, Assistant Vice Chancellor, California State University
Randolph Philipp, Interim Director, School of Teacher Education, San Diego State University
Jenelle Pitt-Parker, Associate Dean, CSU Fresno
Marcos Pizarro, Associate Dean, San Jose State University
Brad Porfilio, Dean, CSU Stanislaus
Laura Portnoi, Associate Dean, CSU Long Beach
Stacie Robertson, Associate Dean, CSU San Bernardino
James Rodriguez, Dean, CSU Bakersfield
Deborah Summers, Associate Dean, CSU Chico
Shari Tarver-Behring, Dean, CSU Northridge
Kevin Taylor, Interim Dean, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Angela Trethewey, Dean, CSU Chico
Frederick Uy, Director, Educator and Leadership Programs, California State University
Joanne Van Boxtel, Associate Dean, Cal Poly Pomona
Robert A. Williams, Dean, CSU East Bay at Hayward
Pia Wong, Associate Dean, Sacramento State University
Randy Yerrick, Dean, CSU Fresno