annual convocation

Welcoming the New Year

  • August 20, 2019

Cal State East Bay officially opened the 2019-20 school year Monday with the university’s annual fall convocation. 

Academic Senate Chairman Michael Lee began with an overview of the Senate’s goals for the upcoming year, including addressing faculty concerns about housing and cost of living. 

Following Lee, the 2019-20 Associated Students Inc. president Daisy Maxion shared her top three priorities for the year which include: student success and closing the equity gap; meeting students’ basic needs; and supporting students who are either undocumented or qualify for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals. She also referenced the grit and resilience of her peers and ASI’s determination to advocate with compassion.

Provost Edward Inch followed Maxion and shared student feedback with the faculty, including messages that many find their professors “inspiring,” “exceptional,” and dedicated. 

University President Leroy M. Morishita shared updates on several initiatives including that the Pioneers for HOPE program distributed more than 33,000 pounds of food in the past year and that the university has increased the total number of tenure and tenure-track professors to 348. Morishita also announced the university would be convening a Housing Task Force this summer to explore short and long-term solutions to help faculty and staff with rising housing costs. He said Cal State East Bay will be “reimagining” the student advising process, as well. 

Several individuals were honored at the event for various awards including: 

  • Associate professor and department chair Erik Helgren — George and Miriam Phillips Outstanding Professor award

  • Center for Community Engagement Director Mary D’Alleva — Provost’s Award for Outstanding Contributor to Community Engagement

  • Assistant professor Patty Oikawa — Provost’s Award for Outstanding Researcher — untenured

  • Professor Scott Fung — Provost’s Award for Outstanding Researcher — tenured

  • Assistant professor G.T. Reyes — Provost’s Award for Outstanding Scholar on Issues of Diversity, Social Justice and Multiculturalism

  • Associate professor and interim chair Shubha Kashinath — Provost’s Award for Outstanding Faculty Mentor of Students

  • Lecturer Julie Severet, Provost’s Award for Outstanding Lecturer

  • Associate professor and department chair Chris Chamberlain — Sue Schaefer Outstanding Service award

  • Sylvia Musson — Vivian Cunniffe award for outstanding staff employee

Finally, the president challenged faculty and staff to speak out about the upcoming census and the importance of being counted.  

“We will outreach via social media to promote participation in the census, host campus speakers during the week of inclusive excellence who will highlight the importance of being counted, and inform faculty about how to incorporate the teaching of the census into existing curriculum,” he said. “Everyone counts, no matter their citizenship status, and it is imperative that we share that message.”