Faculty

DEPARTMENT CHAIR:

Dr. Katherine Bell

E-mail: kate.bell@csueastbay.edu

Office: MI 3011

PhD,  University of Washington,  Seattle

MA,  York University, Toronto

The  directory of all university faculty and staff can be found here

 

Dr. Lonny J Avi Brooks

Professor

E-mail: Lonny.Brooks@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-4854

Office: MI 3039

PhD University of California, San Diego.

MLIS University of California, Los Angeles

Dr. Grant Kien

Graduate Program Coordinator

Professor

E-mail: Grant.Kien@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3927

Office: MI 3005

PhD, University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana

MA, York University, Toronto

 

Dr. Katherine Bell

Associate Professor

E-mail: kate.bell@csueastbay.edu

Office: MI 3011

PhD,  University of Washington,  Seattle

MA,  York University, Toronto

Dr. Mary Cardaras

Associate Professor

E-mail: mary.cardaras@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3925

Office: HAYWARD

PhD, Northeastern University

MSJ, Northwestern University

 

Dr. Yung-I Liu

Associate Professor

E-mail: yungi.liu@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3188

Office: MI 3025

PhD, The Ohio State University

MA, The Ohio State University

Dr. Terry West (Semi-retired)

Associate Professor

E-mail: terry.west@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3292

Office: MI 3011

 

Dr. Anita W. Chang

Assistant Professor

Email: anita.chang@csueastbay.edu

PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz

MFA, San Francisco State University

Dr. Benjamin K. Smith

Assistant Professor

Email: benjamin.smith@csueastbay.edu

Phone: 510-885-2543

Office: MI 3019

PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara

MA, Portland State University

 

Vanessa Cotella

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: vanessa.cotella@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3188

MI 3011

 

Dr. Nolan Higdon

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail:nolan.higdon@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3207

Office: MI 3011

 

Dr. Maha Jacobs

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: maha.jacobs@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3143

Office: MI 3011

 

Christeen Kelley

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: christeen.kelley@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3143

Office: MI 3011


Dr. Joanne Loos

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: joanne.loos@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3292

Office: MI 3011

 

Danielle Newton

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: danielle.newton@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3292

Office: MI 3011

 

Kevin Pina

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: kevin.pina@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-4671

Office: MI 3011

 

Dr. Ash Rahmani

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: ash.rahmani@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3122

Office: MI 3011

 

Lisette Poole

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: lisette.poole@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-4126

Office: MI 3011

 

Dr. Valerie Smith

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: valerie.smith@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-2543

 

Dr. Nancy Van Leuven

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: nancy.vanleuven@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3175

Office: MI 3011

 

Ryan White

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: ryan.white@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3292

Office: MI 3011

 

Brittney Williams

Faculty Lecturer

E-mail: brittney.williams@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3188

Office: MI 3011

 

Staff

LD Larkins – Department Secretary

Email: LD.Larkins@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3292

Kayvon Mangabay – Instructional Support Tech, TV Studio

Email: kayvon.mangabay@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-4670

Kacie Charles – Administrative Support

Email: Kacie.Charles@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3526

Eric Ronning – Pioneer News Production and Computing Coordinator

Email: eric.ronning@csueastbay.edu

Phone: (510) 885-3175

The Dept. of Communication extends a special THANK YOU to Danuta Sawka, who took her well-deserved retirement in 2020. Her many years of selfless service to students and faculty sustained and inspired us all!

 

Emerita Faculty

Harold Barrett

Thomas McCoy

Sally Murphy

Anne Pym

David Sanders

Jack Samosky

Terry West

Gale Young

 

In Memoriam

William (Bill) Alnor (2011)

John Baird (2011)

John Cambus (2017)

John Hammerback (2012)

Daniel Stewart Prentice (2012)

Maggi Sherwin (2016)

Robert Terrell (2019)