ASI Elections Committee

Welcome to the Cal State East Bay ASI Elections page! The ASI Elections committee is a dedicated group of student leaders who are charged with the oversight and management of the student government elections. The committee is selected each year as part of the ASI committee application and interview process. This page serves to provide the Cal State East Bay community with all details relating to ASI Elections.

The ASI Election Committee

The committee is comprised of 5 student leadership positions who receive stipends to oversee the elections process: Chair, Vice Chair, Events & Marketing Coordinator, Ethics Coordinator, and Volunteer Coordinator. Position descriptions can be found at ASI Elections Committee Position Descriptions
  • The 2020-2021 Elections Committee members are Abhay Satishrao Bilapatte (Chair), Julia Nkansah (Vice Chair), Kenneth Lefin (Events & Marketing Coordinator), Mary Katreeb (Ethics Coordinator), & Miriam Okekenta (Volunteer Coordinator)
  • The committee is supported by an advisor team of Marguerite Hinrichs (Director of Student Life & Leadership Programs), James Carroll (Director of Student Conduct, Rights & Responsibilities), Erik Pinlac (Executive Director of ASI), and Angelica Gurrola (Graduate Assistant, Student Conduct, Rights & Responsibilities). 
  • The committee is always looking for additional student volunteers to help plan and staff election activities. This is a great way to get involved at a lower commitment and support your student government! If interested, please contact  

Elections Timeline & Important Dates

Election Timeline
Date Event

Friday, Jan. 22, 2021 

Candidate Information Available (on Baysync) - online Filing of candidacy opens at 5pm

Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2021

ASI Elections Candidate Info Session, U-Hour (12:15 pm), virtual zoom link

Monday, Feb. 15, 2021

Deadline for Candidate filing (verification of candidates begins), 11:59 pm 

Monday, Feb. 22, 2021 

Mandatory Candidate Information Session 
Time: 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Location:  Virtual

You cannot begin Campaigning until you’ve attended one of the mandatory meetings or have met with the Elections Chair (not before 2/27/21)
No Exceptions

Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2021

Mandatory Candidate Information Session
Time: 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm
Location: Virtual

You cannot begin Campaigning until you’ve attended one of the mandatory meetings or have met with the Elections Chair (not before 2/27/21)
No Exceptions

Saturday, Feb. 27, 2021

Campaigning begins 8:00 am

February 27 -
March 18, 2021

Grievance period - must submit to Elections Committee Online

Grievance Form

Monday, Mar. 1, 2021

Slate Information Due - must submit to Elections Committee online

March 10th & March 11th 2021

Meet the Candidates Forums (virtual) 

Wednesday, March 10th, 2021 12pm-1pm

Thursday, March 11th, 2021 6pm-7pm

Monday, Mar. 15, 2021

Voting begins at 8:00 am

Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2021

Voting closes at 11:59 pm

Thursday, Mar. 18, 2021

Last day to submit grievance, 11:59 pm

Friday, Mar. 19, 2021

Tentative elections results released (pending grievance hearings)*

March 23 - 24, 2021

Grievance Hearings (if needed)

April 5 - 6, 2021

Run-Off Elections (if needed)

Wednesday, April 7, 2021

Verify Results

Thursday, April 8, 2021 

Submit Results to President

Friday, April 9, 2021

Results Posted and Celebration
Time: 4:00 pm
Location: Zoom


*If no grievance, hearings, or run-off needed, final results will be announced. 

Election Grievances

At times, during the elections process, there may be concerns or behaviors that could potentially violate the terms of the election codes and campaign guidelines. The ASI Elections Committee takes concerns seriously and will evaluate reports as they come in. It is important that concerns are submitted timely and during the elections season. Please submit concerns at this form: Elections concern form

Connect with ASI Elections Committee