An Undergraduate Journal of Philosophy

Volume VIII, 2008

Note from the Editors

Greetings Friends and Readers!

The students and faculty of the Philosophy Department at California State University, East Bay are proud to present the 2008 edition of our undergraduate philosophy journal, Reflections.

Reflections includes original work from students studying philosophy at CSUEB, majors, minors, and non-majors alike. Our 2008 edition features a very diverse group of writings and original art. Our editorial and contributing staff hopes that you enjoy it.

This edition contains the first and second winning essays of the “Prestigious Bassen Prize” for best written submissions to Reflections. Congratulations to Tyrus Fisher for his first place essay “Utility and Rules of Morality: Kant, Mill, and Hare” and to Monica Thain for her second place essay “Confronting Delusions: Reflections on Friedrich Nietzsche’s ‘On Truth and Lie in an Extra-Moral Sense’”.

CSUEB students, please note the call for papers for the 2009 edition of Reflections that appears at the end of the volume.

If you like the articles in this journal, please consider joining us for meetings of the Philosophy Society, or take a Philosophy class just for fun. We could be reading your ideas in a future edition! Please click on the Philosophy Department link below for more information.

Please join us to think about weird, meaningful, and interesting things!

Questions or comments about Reflections?

Please contact Jennifer Eagan,

Editorial and Contributing Staff

Student Editorial Staff:

  • Tyrus Fisher
  • Clifford Luster
  • Cheryl-Lee Urbanik

Web Designers/ Technical Consultants:

  • Steve Main
  • Roberta Millstein

Contributing Writers:

  • Andrew Buhrmann
  • Tyrus Fisher
  • Nic Paolini
  • Elizabeth Rard
  • Mark Selzer
  • Xabia Wilson
  • Monica Thain
  • Gregoire Youbara

Contributing Artists:

  • Nicole Ferrara
  • J. McMillon
  • Jerri Torres

Special Thanks to:

Teresa Taniguchi and all the students and faculty of the Philosophy Department at CSUEB.