An Undergraduate Journal of Philosophy

Volume IX, 2009

Note from the Editors

Greetings Friends and Readers!

The students and faculty of the Philosophy Department at California State University, East Bay are delighted to present the 2009 edition of our undergraduate philosophy journal,Reflections.

Reflections includes original work from students studying philosophy at CSUEB, majors, minors, and non-majors alike. Our 2009 edition features writings whose topics include death, ethics, time, and religion, as well as original art in form of photographs, prints, and paintings. All of the writing and art in this edition is created by CSUEB students. Our editorial and contributing staff hopes that you find it enlightening.

This edition contains the winners of our second annual “Prestigious Bassen Prize” for the best written submissions to Reflections. Congratulations to Tyrus Fisher for his first place essay “In Defense of Epicurus, a Brash Attack on Peter Carruthers; Or, Why Carruthers’ Argument that Death is a Harm to the Deceased Fails” and to Victor Ma for his second place essay “Singer’s Choice: On the Significance of Our Moral Poverty in Global Aid”.

CSUEB students, please note the call for papers for the 2010 edition of Reflections that appears at the end of the volume.

If you like the articles in this journal, please consider joining us for meetings of the Philosophy Society, or take a Philosophy class just for fun. We could be reading your ideas in a future edition! Please click on the Philosophy Department link below for more information.

Please join us to think about weird, meaningful, and interesting things!

Questions or comments about Reflections?

Please contact Jennifer Eagan,

Editorial and Contributing Staff

Faculty Editors and Advisors:

  • Russ Abrams
  • Craig Derksen
  • Jennifer Eagan
  • Barbara Hall
  • Christopher Moreman
  • Vida Pavesich

Student Editor:

  • Cheryl-Lee Urbanik

Web Designers/ Technical Consultants:

  • Steve Main
  • Roberta Millstein

Contributing Writers:

  • James Bonnie
  • Cale Corwin
  • Paul D’Andrea
  • Tyrus Fisher
  • Victor Ma
  • Kartikey Pradhan
  • Mark Albert Selzer

Contributing Artists:

  • Melissa Crockett
  • Paul D’Andrea
  • Nicole Ferrara
  • Rosita Fogelman
  • Sydney Ngo

Special Thanks to:

Mona Dongray, Teresa Taniguchi, and all the students and faculty of the Philosophy Department at CSUEB.