An Undergraduate Journal of Philosophy

Volume XI

Note from the Editors

Greetings Friends and Readers!

The students and faculty of the Philosophy Department at California State University, East Bay are thrilled to present the 2011 edition of our undergraduate philosophy journal,Reflections.

Reflections includes original work from students studying philosophy at CSUEB, majors, minors, and non-majors alike. In our 2010 edition, students are focusing on the philosophy of Immanuel Kant, ethics, and even science fiction. We are grateful to our CSUEB artists’ contributions in providing such stimulating art to accompany the ideas in this volume. All of the writing and art in this edition is created by CSUEB students.

This edition contains the winners of our fourth annual “Prestigious Bassen Prize” for the best written submissions to Reflections. Congratulations to Thomas Rule for his first place essay “Genesis of the Individual: The True Original Sin?” and to Erik Edgren for his second place essay “The Near Death Experience”.

CSUEB students, please note the call for papers for the 2012 edition of Reflections that appears at the end of the volume.

If you like the articles in this journal, please consider joining us for meetings of the Philosophy Society. We could be reading your ideas in a future edition! Please click on the Philosophy Department link below for more information and join us on Facebook and Twitter (links below).

Please join us to think about weird, meaningful, and interesting things!

Questions or comments about Reflections?

Please contact Jennifer Eagan,

Editorial and Contributing Staff

Faculty Editors and Advisors:

  • Jennifer Eagan
  • Robert Gorton
  • Barbara Hall
  • Christopher Moreman

Web Designer and Chief Student Editor:

  • Marie Alexandra Ibarra

Student Editors:

  • Sahsa Cherchasky
  • Dexter Coleman
  • Ally Norgard

Contributing Writers:

  • Jeremy Dutra
  • Erik Edgren
  • Rebecca Kim
  • Lauren Lola
  • Janelle Renée
  • Thomas Rule
  • Brent Schrodetzki

Contributing Artists:

  • Sasha Cherchasky
  • Teresa Taniguchi

Web Designers/ Technical Consultants:

  • Steve Main
  • Roberta Millstein

Special Thanks to:

Dr. Kit Blamey, our benefactor, and all the students and faculty of the Philosophy Department at CSUEB.