Top NavigationTop NavigationTop Navigation

Dept of Communication

Department of Communication

Join us and acquire practical skills, communication theory, and critical analysis. Media (print, TV and video, Internet and mobile), modes of communication (oral, written, visual), and contexts (face-to-face, mediated, public, and organizational) converge in our careers and daily lives. We offer the first state-university program in the Bay Area to cover this interrelated spectrum of today's communication in new and traditional forms.



Bachelor of Arts in Communication (3 concentrations)

  1. Communication and Media Studies
  2. Strategic Communication
  3. Media Production

Undergraduate Minor in Communication
Master of Arts in Communication


Student-run/student-serving entities

The Department of Communication has affiliations with the National Communication Association (NCA), Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication (ASJM), the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), the Cutural Studies Association (CSA), and the California Newspaper Publishers Association (CNPA). The department also sponsors campus chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists, and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA).

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that our department and the CSUEB campus is on the ancestral land of the Yrgin Chochenyo Ohlone People. We pay respects to the Ohlone people, past, present, and future. Please reflect on the history of the lands and waterways where we gather together, and the legacies of colonization that have led us to this  moment. Let us consider our roles in reconciliation, decolonization and allyship.

Learn more about the native peoples of the Bay Area:

Learn more about this land and how to directly support Ohlone people by paying a Shuumi Land Tax:

Contact Us

Department of Communication
  • California State University, East Bay
  • 25800 Carlos Bee Blvd
  • 3011 Meiklejohn Hall
  • Hayward, CA 94542