LGBTQ+ Staff & Faculty Association

LGBTQ+ Staff & Faculty Association

Mission Statement

In accordance with the eight shared strategic commitments adopted by California State University, East Bay (CSUEB), the CSUEB LGBTQ+ Staff and Faculty Association enhances the quality of life for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender faculty, staff, and students by:

  • Fostering communication between staff, administration, students, and faculty on LGBTQ+ issues as they relate to staff and faculty concerns.
  • Providing opportunities for interaction and coalition building among members through sponsorship of social events.
  • Providing opportunities for interaction, advocacy, and education between members and the larger CSUEB community through sponsorship of programs, lectures and scholarship.
  • Helping to support a strong LGBTQ+ community by providing a relaxed, safe place during social events for LGBTQ+ staff and faculty to create lasting friendships.

Becoming a Member

Membership is open to Cal State East Bay faculty and staff. If you would like to join and be added to our distribution list, please contact our Co-Chairs: James Carroll, and Michael Schmeltz,
Co-Chair James Carroll

James Carroll

Co-Chair (Staff)

Michael Schmeltz

Co-Chair (Faculty) 



Marketing Chair


Treasurer Martin Castillo

Martin Castillo


Krystle Tonga

Social Chair



Fundraising Chair