Near-Final Future Directions Draft for Feedback

Dear campus community,

I am very pleased to share with you the latest and near final draft of priorities/desired outcomes/examples of actions developed through our year-long Future Directions Process.

You may review the document and provide your feedback.

This document is the result of broad input throughout our community and including external stakeholders over many months. I believe the document reflects who we are as a university and provides clear direction on how we can move forward to achieve our aspirations for Cal State East Bay. Your final thoughts are vital at this stage of the process.

Following this final stage of feedback, we will provide final copyediting and post the plan on our Future Directions website. Next semester I will direct all colleges and administrative units to identify their own actions to be measured and enhanced, consistent with the overall plan. We will publish those actions on our website and provide regular updates to track—and celebrate--our progress.

My sincere gratitude goes to so many of you who have contributed to Future Directions. I especially want to recognize and thank our Steering Committee chairs, Jason Singley and Veronica Salvador, who led the effort, Dwyla Jourdan who so ably organized our many virtual meetings, and John Welty of the AASCU Consulting who provided structure and advice to the process. Steering Committee and Working Group members  deserve special thanks as well.

Committee Members
Mark Almeida*
Lori Bachand
Kim Baker-Flowers
Lonny Brooks*
Chris Chamberlain*
Christina Chin-Newman*
Kabir Dhillon
Bette Felton
Kyzyl Fenno-Smith*
Balvinder Kumar*
Holly Stanco*
Fanny Yeung*
*Also part of a Task Force

Task Force Members
Dan Bellone
Nolan Calara
Luz Calvo
Zandrae Chan
Shannon Coskran
Mary D’alleva
Chantal Ebarle
Holly Fincke
Katherine Freitas
Saleem Gilmore
Pascale Guiton
Nina Haft
Kathryn Hayes
Rafael Hernandez
Marguerite Hinrichs
Scott Hopkins
My-Lan Huynh
Maha Jacobs
Sonia Jethani
Allison Kern
Chandra Khan
Balvinder Kumar  
Christine Lam-Vasquez
Janiene Langford
Danika LeDuc
Tony Marks-Block
Jazzmin Matthews
Andy Mayeda
Kaumudi Misra
Victoria Morris
Carolyn Nelson
Patty Oikawa
Erin Quineri
Arianne Riley
Angela Schneider
Divya Sitaraman
Carrie Stewart
Claire Valderama-Wallace
Rob Williams


Again, your feedback is important as we finish the final steps of our planning. Please take a moment to read this near-final document and share your thoughts.

With warm regards,

Cathy Sandeen

April 13, 2022